Dealing with the Aftermath of Depression

Having been depressed my first 2 years of med school, I ended up with extremely shitty stats.

how shitty? I’m in the 4th quartile for my class (at a top 20 med school, slightly redeeming?), and I got a 210 on my USMLE step 1 (first boards we take after 2nd year med school) which is equivalent to ~22nd percentile. FML.

I’m TRYING really hard to stay positive. I’ve only had 2 rotations- psychiatry and OB-GYN, so there is still a lot left to be determined.. but I am struggling to maintain optimism when I am absolutely certain I want to do emergency medicine- a rather competitive specialty.

But, what’s done is done. What is in my power is to do as well as I possibly can for my remaining rotations: internal medicine, neurology, pediatrics, surgery, and family medicine.

I have to make sure I work my hardest throughout the ENTIRE ROTATION! It is so easy to want to go home STAT when I’ve had a long day in clinic, but I must remember to NOT BE LAZY!!!!!!! EYES ON THE PRIZE.

With that said, I would like to make sure I take adequate time to reflect periodically, that means I will probably try to get back into writing my feelings on here regularly.

but, on to some studying for now…

One thought on “Dealing with the Aftermath of Depression

  1. Pingback: one of those days | The Annie Hall

Leave a Reply

